Garlic-ginger Tuna Steak with lime and EVOO

I am so sorry for not posting a recipe in a very LONG time. In short, I just graduated college, went backpacking in Europe and then I have been working two jobs so life has been a little crazy lately. With that said, this recipe is super fast, convenient and full of nutrients to help power me through my days. Pan seared Tuna cooked medium-rare is one of my favorite meals of all time and is super easy to make. It takes only 5 minutes for this whole recipe from start to finish and will leave you with a big smile.

IMG_1692
My favorite city, Cinque Terra, Italy

Ingredients:

  • 1, 6oz piece of tuna
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 clove of fresh garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp. freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tsp. lime juice
  • 1 tsp. freshly ground peppercorns

11748698_10155762746540177_1090840225_n

  1. In  a small bowl, combine 1 Tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO), lime juice, garlic, ginger and peppercorns and stir together
  2. In a frying pan, add 1 Tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO) on medium-high heat
  3. Allow oil to heat up and place tuna in the pan for 1 minute on each side (I set a timer so I could be exact)
  4. Once you flip the tuna for the first time, drizzle olive oil and spices on top of the tuna
  5. If you like your tuna more well done, allow it to cook for a longer duration on each side
  6. Enjoy with a side of avocado and kale for a balanced and delicious meal

Tuna is very high in protein and is a great substitution for red meat in the diet. I really enjoy it after a long run or working out to replenish my body. I hope you enjoy this recipe!

Leave a Reply

